The administration of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is facilitated by geographic areas. In the United States and Canada, each area is overseen by a member of the Presidency of the Quorum of the Seventy who are based in Salt Lake City, Utah. Other areas are overseen by an area president and two counsellors, who are usually members of the Quorums of the Seventy and live in their assigned areas.

Under the direction of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, area presidencies provide spiritual and administrative direction to the leaders and members of the Church in their areas.

There are currently 23 areas:

  • Africa Central
  • Africa South
  • Africa West
  • Asia
  • Asia North
  • Brazil
  • Caribbean
  • Central America
  • Mexico
  • Europe Central
  • Europe East
  • Europe North
  • Middle East/North Africa
  • Pacific
  • Philippines
  • South America Northwest
  • South America South
  • North America Central
  • North America Northeast
  • North America Southeast
  • North America Southwest
  • North America West
  • Utah


Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.