News Release

New Canadian Mormon Leaders Announced at Church's General Conference

The First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced eight new general authorities and 59 area seventies including two Canadian leaders, at the Saturday afternoon session of the Church’s 183rd Annual General Conference this weekend.

Area seventies give part-time voluntary Church service within their assigned geographic areas and support area presidencies in international areas. The Canadians called as area seventies are G. Lawrence Spackman, 61, of Calgary, Alberta, and David P. Homer, 51, of Burlington, Ontario, both currently serving as stake presidents.

President Spackman will succeed Richard K. Melchin, and President Homer will succeed W. T. David Murray, effective 1 May 2013. Vern P. Stanfill, 55, of Kalispell, Montana will succeed Terrence C. Smith

For a full listing of new general authorities and area seventies announced see the following link: New General Authority Callings and Releases Announced.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.