Country Profile

Canada Northwest Territories

The Yellowknife Branch (a "branch" is a small congregation) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Northwest Territories covers approximately 500,000 square miles. It covers more area than any other branch in the Church. Half of the Church members in the Northwest Territories live in Yellowknife and half are found in Hay River, Fort Smith, Coppermine, Inuvik, Rankin Inlet and Iqaluit. These members occasionally travel hundreds of miles to meet for socials and meetings.



Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.